[翻譯] 我是 Alex St. John 的女兒,我認為他對於女工程師的看法有誤

I am Alex St. John’s Daughter, and He is Wrong About Women in Tech
[翻譯] 我是 Alex St. John 的女兒,我認為他對於女工程師的看法有誤

[本文已徵得作者同意翻譯]

原文網址:
https://medium.com/@milistjohn/i-am-alex-st-john-s-daughter-and-he-is-wrong-about-women-in-tech-4728545e7c0e#.tm9ch46wi
http://www.wired.com/2016/04/alex-st-johns-daughter-wrong-women-tech/

My name is Amilia St. John and I am the daughter of Alex St. John. Yes, that one. For those not following the horrific toddler meltdown my father has been very publicly broadcasting over the past few days, here is a short summary; My father, posted an article recently on venturebeat.com ( 相關文章請看 http://wp.me/pBAPd-vd  )claiming that:

 “Many modern game developers have embraced a culture of victimology and a bad attitude toward their chosen vocations.”

and how:

    “[he] can’t begin to imagine how sheltered the lives of modern technology employees must be to think that any amount of hours they spend pushing a mouse around for a paycheck is really demanding strenuous work.”

我的名字是 Amilia St. John,我是 Alex St. John 的女兒。沒錯,就是那個 Alex。如果你還不知道那件令人恐懼的胡鬧事件的話,一言以蔽之:我爸貼了一篇文章說:"很多現代的遊戲開發者習慣認為自己生活在受害者情節下,同時對他們自選的職業抱持負面態度。","我無法想像這些受到現代科技庇護的員工認為動動滑鼠就能營生是艱難的工作。"

— The usual self aggrandizing agenda that older generations like to peddle on days when they need to feed their superiority complexes. My father’s article led to a massive outcry from the gaming industry and a subsequent invasion of my father’s blog by the (rightfully) angry internet masses.
常常有老人需要不時拿這些自我膨脹的抱怨來填滿他們的優越感。我父親的文章引發了來自遊戲產業大規模的噓文,及後續對於我父親的部落格聲討的一連串正義之聲。

On the blog, they uncovered extremely distasteful recruiting slides and supplemental blogs with revolting opinions regarding women, minorities and those with autism in the tech industry. Since these findings, countless others and I have found ourselves at a loss for words how anyone, especially someone in a position of power, can think that it is acceptable to broadcast such offensive material.
在部落格上,他們肉搜出數個徵募投影片及相關的部落格,其中指出對科技產業中女性,弱勢,及孤僻員工的負面看法。因為這些素材,包含我在內無數人對於任何一個位居高位的人可以公開發表這樣攻擊性文字感到無言。

As his toxic waste trash fire not only is associated with my last name but also my face, I felt compelled to respond to my father’s sexist, ableist, and racist rants.
他的這些垃圾廢言不只讓我的家族蒙羞,也讓我丟臉。因此我被迫對我父親關於女性,弱者,及種族的歧視做出回應。

{Important disclaimer: I have not lived with or near my father for many years and I lead an independent existence. I very strongly disagree with his opinions but have unfortunately ignored them for too many years.}
請注意:我已有很多年獨立過活,沒有與我父親住在一起。我十分強烈的反對他的意見,但不幸地我這些年來都刻意忽視他的言論。

I am 22, a female, white and currently moonlighting as a “wage slave.”(as my dad would call it). I work full-time in technical position (yes, a 9–5 and yes, I am never forced to put in overtime). One could say it is the sort of job that requires me to “move my mouse around a lot”. This can be particularly difficult when the “shackles of my gender” become too burdensome to bear.
我現在二十二歲,女性,白性,正做為一位我父親所謂兼差的"薪水奴隸"而過活著。我做全職的科技工作(沒錯,朝九晚五,而且從未被迫加班)。你可以說我的工作只需辛苦的動動滑鼠。但當
性別的束縛變為難以忍受的困擾時,這件工作其實更加的困難。

But as a woman, to enter this privileged position in the first place I had to face a lot of difficult situations(And no, none of those situations involved a wrestle with my “victim complex”). The experience has left me with more than a few opinions about my father’s views on this subject (which are exceptionally vile and wrong).
作為一位女性,要能在這樣受到恩典的職位工作,我必須面對一連串的困境(而且這些困境都與受害者情結沒有任何關係)。這些經驗讓我必須對我父親對於這種錯誤骯髒的觀點站出來。

{The important caveat to this mini age, sex, race debrief is that I cannot speak for the experience of other races, women (and men) in the tech industry. However, the disparity and the need for a change is clear. For an excellent perspective from a black woman in the industry, I highly recommend this article by Erica Joy.}
{注意:我無法代表其他科技產業的種族,男女性而發言。然而,對於平等及改變的需求是清楚的。從一個科技業的黑人女性角度來看,我推薦這篇 Erica Joy 的文章。}

“The ugly everyday racism inside tech’s diversity problem"
http://www.dailydot.com/opinion/black-woman-tech-industry/

I wasn’t always going to enter tech. I only hammered that part down around a year ago, but the journey encompasses my entire life. Like my father, I dropped-out of the traditional education system. But unlike many women before me, I received exceptional mentoring and coaching from other technical women in the field and, as a result, I was able to persist in pursuing tech a career. This access to mentoring is not an option for the majority of women entering tech and I consider myself extremely lucky to have received it.
我以前並沒有想要進入科技業,在一年前才開始加緊腳步。但科技業的經驗在我四周俯拾即是。我如我父親一樣輟學。但不像許多女性前輩一樣,我卻有來自女工程師的指引及教導,所以因此我能夠堅持選擇以科技工作者作為一個職業。這種來自資深人員的關心並非大多數女工程師的經驗,我認為這對我而言是極度的幸運。

I entered tech for the following reasons:

# My interest in the field of software development
#‘Dat Market / employability / livable wage
# Because lots of people said I couldn’t
# Because not enough women are involved in the tech field

我因為幾個原因而進入科技業

# 我對於軟體開發的興趣
# 對這個熱門領域的勞工可隨職涯成長 / 還能負擔我最低薪資
# 因為很多人說我做不到
# 因為在科技產業中的女性不夠多

The last reason is the most important and what I intend to discuss for the next several paragraphs. Women make up 29.1% of the tech industry, but only 16.6% of technical jobs. Women in technology is personal to me, and I feel it is my responsibility to share my experiences with other women. In a world where so many women are finally gaining the opportunity for a voice, the tech industry is quiet. And what my father seems to so fundamentally misunderstand is that this is NOT, as he insinuates, a result of women “claiming victimhood”.
最後一個理由最重要,也是我想在接下來幾段落論述的中心。在科技業中女性大概佔百分之二十九點一,但其實只有百分之十六點六是真的做工程。作為科技業的女性,我覺得我有必要對其他女性分享一些個人經驗。在一個女權高漲的世界,科技產業顯得很異常安靜。我的父親從根本就誤解了這不是因為女性有著他所謂的"受害者情結"。

{I will give credence to you that there MAY be a very small percentage of women that will perpetually victim complex themselves out of difficult situations, but my only justification for that is the recent evidence brought to my attention that a percentage of men still believe all women are emotionally vulnerable, self-identified victims. If men like that exist, then perhaps less-than- ideal-women may exist, too.}
{我相信真的可能有小部分的女性會因為遭遇困難而顯露出受害者情結,但我唯一的辯護是依據最近的證據讓我注意到一部份的男性仍然深信女性是容易被情感影響地,自認為是受害者。假如這樣的男性存在,那麼當然前述的女性也有可能存在。}

I will start with the root of the problem beginning in K-12 education. I was gifted at an early age with the amazing advantage of knowing that tech was an option in the first place. Not only did I know it was an option, I had many family members already working in tech, sharing tech and encouraging me to learn from them. Even so, I found it difficult to make the transition for, unsurprisingly, many of the reasons that plague women entering the industry. Sometimes not feeling intelligent enough, I could not find relatable peers to work with in my classes, and even if I did, purely academic relationships would often be misconstrued as ‘something more’. Many attempts to solidify my path have resulted in open discouragement from both women and men alike. The worst part is that I have had it extremely easy compared to other women.
我用國中小教育系統的問題開始論述。我小時候很聰明,而且也早就知道進入科技業是一個可能的選項。不只是我學習到,我有很多親戚也都在科技業工作,他們都與我分享,鼓勵我從他們身上學習。即便如此,不意外地,我仍發現很多事情不斷荼毒進入科技業的女性。有時候是覺得我們不夠聰明,在此我沒辦法在我的班級找到這樣的關連性。即便有這樣的證據,學力的成就常常無法證明未來的發展。讓我堅持這條道路的很多原因是來自兩性的公開奚落。更糟糕的是,比起其他的女性,我真的曾經有這樣的經驗。

Imagine, then, how rare it must be for other young women, without encouragement or prior knowledge, to make the decision to enter the tech field.
想像一下,對年輕女性來說,若沒有外在的鼓勵或事先的知識,會選擇進入科技產業是多麼稀奇的事情。

The majority of U.S. K-12 schools do not even offer any Computer Science curriculum in the first place. In fact, only 5% of U.S. High schools even offer the Computer Science AP exam in the first place. As a result, many women enter college without even considering Computer Science as an option, and may only choose to transition to the major after their freshman year. Even if they do eventually decide to switch majors, it can be difficult or nearly impossible to finish within four years as a late transit. Adding to this adversity, many women and minorities feel intense isolation when confronted with the hard reality that they do not fit in with their overwhelmingly male classmates. Worst of all, many women enter into CS majors only to find that they are already hopelessly behind as they discover that their male counterparts already know the material from tinkering in their childhoods. As a result, many women and minorities end up dropping out of the major altogether.
大多數國中小課程都沒有提供關於資訊相關的課程。事實上,在美國的高中只有百分之五提供資訊類別的學測。因此很多進入大學的女性從未想過資訊可能是他們的選擇之一。即使中途打算轉系,都很難在四年完成學業。因為這樣的困難,很多女性或少數族群當面對無法融入專業的同儕時會感到無比孤立。更糟的情形是,很多女性進入資訊學程後卻發現很多男性的同學都從小就學過那些上課的素材。因此,很多女性及少數民族最終會選擇休學。

“The pervasive bias against female computer science majors"
http://fortune.com/2015/04/20/the-pervasive-bias-against-female-computer-science-majors/

And I can draw the obvious conclusion of what my father would argue from here, allow me beat him to it. “Isolation is good for you, stop being a victim, tough it out”. While I agree that developing a thick skin is important, this isn’t an actionable solution to solve the problem shown by the statistics (although promising developments, are bubbling as the number of CS students at Stanford increases).
因此我知道我父親的觀點為何會下這樣的結論,我想要反駁他所說的論點:孤立是一件好事,不要認為自己是受害者,這是磨練。即便我同意要能忍受嘲諷是很重要的,從統計數據來看,這卻不是解決問題的方式。(雖然在資訊領域女性的比例已經開始增長)

“Computer science now top major for women at Stanford University"
http://www.reuters.com/article/us-women-technology-stanford-idUSKCN0S32F020151009

{Even if a woman does get thick skin, the joke is on them as woman’s perceived competency drops by 35% as soon as their colleagues start to feel that they are being “aggressive”. }
{即便女性能夠臉皮厚一點,當女性被感覺到的能力下降百分之三十五時,嘲諷就會出現。尤其是他們的同學開始覺得這些女性開始進取向上時。}

So let’s say a woman does successfully complete a CS degree and enter the career pipeline in the first place, and let’s pretend that her “self-imposed victim complex” doesn’t weed her out early. What happens to her next?
我們假定女性成功的完成資訊學位,進入職場,也就是受害者情結並沒有提早打敗她。接下來會發生甚麼事?

Unfortunately the prognosis remains bleak. After entering the field, women begin to get weeded out of engineering roles in favor of client-facing roles that “perfectly suit” their “stronger social skills”. In my father’s recruiting slides, he advocates for this exactly, quote,

“Technical women are often quickly promoted for a variety of reasons. Stronger social skills often make them better architects, technical writers, QA, or technical support people.”

不幸地我們的預測依然發生,在進入職場之後,女性開始被排除在工程的職位之外,被偏好穿著套裝,面對客戶,被認為應該使用女性的社交技能。在我父親的徵募投影片中,他這樣主張:

科技業的女性都很快因為一些原因被拔擢:優秀的社交能力讓他們在系統架構,技術文件,品管,或是技術助理的職位表現得比較好。

{Dad, if you use my face in an offensive slideshow again I beg you to please at least throw me a bone and put in a more flattering picture. As a self absorbed millennial I have provided the internet with a profusion of selfies in a rainbow of sepia tones. Please choose any of those.}
{爸,假如你再一次放我的照片在一張有攻擊性的投影片的話,我希望你能至少知會我,然後挑一張好照片。我在網路上有一個烏賊色調基底的彩虹相簿有一連串的自拍,請從裡面挑。}

Widely held beliefs like these are playing a huge role in hindering women from continuing as engineers. While many of these “more social” roles may be high paying, they remove truly technical women from technical jobs, furthering the imbalance. This directly impacts women later in their careers as it has been shown that technical positions are more likely to lead to senior roles in the industry. My Father’s suggestion to continue the practice of “promoting” women out of engineering roles will only further reinforce gender norms in the workplace and ultimately harm the supply of senior female technical executives.
廣泛地這種想法造成了女性繼續在工程之路的巨大阻礙。也許這些社交比重高的職位可能薪水比較高,它們卻屏除了女性作為真正工程師的可能性,進一步造成不平衡。直接的衝擊女性的職涯,因為技術的資深職位在業界會走向管理。我父親的建議-繼續這樣把女性"拔擢"只會導致這個工作場域的單一性別化,同時嚴重地傷害業界資深女性工程師的供給。

And finally, here we are at this written hemorrhoid from my father’s blog:

“Why do young white males tend to be the ones who pick up computers, teach themselves to code, start businesses in their basements with their friends and get rich? It’s an obvious opportunity to everybody isn’t it? If you are a different race, gender, or religion… what’s your excuse? I know of very very few successful bootstrapped tech companies founded by women or blacks.”

最後就得到我父親部落格所寫下的這鬼東西:

為何年輕的白人男性會選擇資訊,自學程式,在地下室開始事業,然後發達有錢?這每個人都可以做得到對吧?別的種族,性別,宗教為何做不到?我知道很多女性或黑人創立的科技公司。

By posing an open-ended question, I suppose it’s easy to allow users to fill in the (rather insulting) gaps. My Father’s own conclusion being that everyone who is not a white male has a victim complex and is allowing themselves to be held back. It is very convenient to pretend that the reason white males are so successful is because they are the self-starters, geared toward success etc. while everyone else is simply too lazy, apathetic and whiny to make something of themselves. By pretending this, he shields himself from all of the realities that put white males in a position of power in the first place.
這種開放式的問題,是假定讀者能夠自然的推論出答案。我父親的結論是每個只要不是白種男性的人都有受害者情結,因此只會退縮。也就是說白人男性才有自我創業邁向成功的精神,其他人就是懶惰,可悲,只會抱怨刷存在感。他用這樣的言論來讓自己忽視白人男性為何能夠有主導力量的相關原因。

Perhaps rather than pointing out the disparity and using it as an opportunity to belittle and insult ~64% of the U.S. population, my father could use this insight as a springboard to reach a more obvious conclusion: Why haven’t people like him used their positions of privilege to help solve the problem? Maybe their attitudes are partially(entirely) to blame?
也許比起透過這些不同之處來貶低汙辱百分之六十四的美國人之外,其實我父親可以用這樣的看法作為跳板來推導出更明顯的結論:為什麼像他一樣的人們並沒有利用他們的高度解決這個問題?也許是因為這些人的態度就只有謾罵。

Consider that as many as 50% of women working in STEM fields have chosen to leave over the past decade as a result of hostile, unwelcoming work environments. Rather than telling these women to buck up, suffer in silence and keep working, it would be more effective to address the root of the proverbial elephant in the room: The men (and sometimes women) who believe what people like my father are spewing, and regurgitate it at their female counterparts. The real crux of the issue is that by propagating this offensive ideology (even if it could be just my father trying to get his jollies by instigated fights with everyone on the internet), he is feeding the fire for the dull brained Neanderthals in the industry who actually are anti-women to continue propagating these practices.
根據研究指出科技機械產業有至多百分之五十的女性選擇離開的原因是有敵意,不受歡迎的工作環境。比起告訴這些女性振作,忍耐,繼續努力之外,更有效的是指出顯然被忽視的原因:男人(有時候包含女人)相信像我父親一樣大放厥詞的人,然後在女性身上嘗試印證這些論點。真正的關鍵是藉由擴大這樣有攻擊性的理論(即便這些言論可能是我父親喝醉之後只是想要找鄉民來吵架),他正在給那些原本就是仇女的笨蛋野蠻人吵架的素材來造成惡性循環。

“New Study Finds Gender Discrimination in the Tech Industry Is Still Sky-High"
http://www.vogue.com/13387424/female-discrimination-tech-industry-study/

And it is from here that I beg my father, for the love of his daughters, to stop hindering our progress as women in the industry and start using his influence to promote positive experiences for minorities in tech.

{And to stop promoting abuse and exploitation of people with Aspergers. And also to stop being an obnoxious clown.}

因此我在這裏請求我的父親,請基於你對女兒的關心,停止這些打壓業界女性的舉動,開始使用你的影響力來提升少數族群在科技產業的影響力。
{同時停止跟這些亞斯柏格症患者吵架及利用他們的舉動。不要再開這種令人厭惡的玩笑}

Suppose he does not… Given my allegedly inflexible millennial tendencies and gender inherited victim complex, I have no doubt I will eventually give up on tech and be forced to move in to his home (I hope he has space) where I intend to start my dream blog about the college tuition bubble and how baby boomers ruined our economy.
假如他沒辦法這樣做,那麼從我廣為人知死板樂天個性及來自女性的受害者情結,無疑地我將最後終結於離開科技產業,並且搬到他家(我希望他家有空間),然後我想開始寫我的部落格,內容關於專科學校的學費以及嬰兒潮如何拖累我們的經濟。

If you are an individual interested in furthering the fight to improve ratios for women and minorities in the industry, there are so many opportunities to get involved! Start a female and minority hackathon, volunteer to mentor young women and minorities in computer science, or even just start by learning more.

Here is a {short} list of other resources to get you started.

假如你也關心產業中女性或少數族群的比例的問題,這裡有幾個相關的組織可以參與。舉辦女性或少數族群的駭客松活動,自願來指導資訊產業的年輕女性及少數族群,或是看看以下幾個連結:

http://girlswhocode.com/ -An excellent nonprofit with a focus on teaching women k-12 how to code. They make it relatively easy to start (or join) a group in your area!
非營利教導國高中程式設計的組織 Girls Who Code。

http://www.code2040.org/ -An awesome site with a focus on blacks and latinos in the coding industry
專注在程式設計產業中黑人及拉丁裔的網站:Code 2040。

http://www.2020shift.com/ -Focus on minorities in hybrid careers in the tech business. I love this website because it is all about entering the tech world if you ARE NOT in a technical career.
2020 Shift 關心在科技產業的混和職位,尤其是從非技術職位進入產業。

https://www.codecademy.com/ -A great start to dive in to the basics of coding.
程式設計入門:Code Cademy。

https://scratch.mit.edu/ This is an amazing tool for young children learning how to code. It teaches children to think logically while removing the syntax hurdles.
年輕學子如何學習程式,Scratch。

https://blog.hootsuite.com/four-inspiring-women-in-tech/ Some killer tech giants who are making a difference.
科技鉅子如何改變世界 Hoot Suite

http://ghc.anitaborg.org/  Grace Hopper is a female and minority focused conference. I have unfortunately never had the opportunity to go but I constantly hear what an amazing experience it is. Students can earn scholarships to finance their trip.
Grace Hopper 是專注在女性及少數族群的研討會。學生可以爭取旅途的獎學金。

http://codepen.io/ This site is a personal favorite tool. It is such a fun playground for front end development. It allows you code while simultaneously working with HTML, CSS and Javascript and it is so flexible. It is all buffed out with preprocessors galore.
前端開發的友善工具,Codepen

— If you want to continue the conversation, hit me up at anytime on twitter, my handle is @milistjohn
假如你想要繼續這些溝通,請追蹤我的Twitter帳號,@milistjohn。

EDIT: Wow thank you everyone for the amazing response. I have fixed a few grammar edits( Thank you everyone who pointed those out), and cleared up a few other areas. My original phrasing of a few elements wasn’t as inclusive as it should have been, considering the large amount of underrepresented minorities that exists in the tech industry.
感謝回應,我編修了數個文法錯誤(感謝勘誤),併重新思考幾個地方。我更新的說法包含得更多,尤其是考量到科技業中大多數不同類型的少數民族。

Amilia St. John

Front End Developer, fighting for women in tech. Twitter: @milistjohn Email: stjohnmili@gmail.com
Amilia St. John 是前端開發者,在科技產業中的女權鬥士。

發表迴響

